Sunday, September 29, 2013

My Homes.

Prompt 5: Your Childhood Home

Your Childhood Home
When did you leave home?
Where was it?
Where did you move to?
Was it rented or owned? – with parents/Grandparents
Was it inherited
What was it like – describe it – each room.
Were there a favourite room?
Is there anything you particularly remember from the house?
The road & area

My dad was in the military, the Air Force to be exact, so we moved around.
We lived in Altus, Oklahoma when I was born in a trailer house. When dad was transferred to Canada, we returned with our trailer house which we parked on my Grandma and Grandpa Grashoff's farm. Later we move to Dover, Delaware and still lived in a trailer house.
After Dad got out of the Air Force, we lived in rural Washta, near where my Dad was born and raised.
This is a current picture of the home, so it didn't look exactly like this, but still the same house. We moved around frequently and my brothers dubbed this "the dirty house", as they decided when a house got dirty we moved.

After this home, we moved to a rental home in rural Aurelia, I don't think that I have any pictures of this house. Then, we BOUGHT a home in Aurelia. My grandpa had actually built the home for my mom's brother. So It did mean something that way too. So, I have discovered, I really don't have pictures of the Aurelia house. This is a photo of my kids and nephews at Halloween in front of the fireplace my mom built, yes my mom built. We lived in this house when I graduated. This house had hardwood floors. We had bedrooms upstairs and down. It was a small home for six people. but we made it work. This home was in town about a block away from the school. It is a very small rural Iowa community.

After graduation, I moved to Spencer, Iowa, and lived in a dorm. Following graduation from business school, I lived in Spencer in an apartment for a while, but that didn't work out very well and I moved back home. I lived there until I got married. Since then we have lived in a farm house by Milford that belonged to my in-laws that we remodeled. Then we built a home in rural Cherokee County, Iowa. By built, I mean with our own little hands!

Saturday, September 21, 2013

A change of seasons.

Prompt 4 - Favourite Season

Do you have one?
A Happy Memory or association

Close your eyes and imagine your favourite season – write down what you see, feel, hear.

This one is actually kind of difficult for me. I could more easily come up with a favorite holiday - hands down Christmas!!!
However, I favorite season is another story.  My least favorite season is winter. Once again easy!
I love the other three seasons. Spring is wonderful because it is the whole rebirth thing and warming up! Just love the whole spring thing!
then comes summer. I love the heat and baseball and softball. So I do really like summer too.
One of my favorite parts of summer is driving my Sebring Convertible around with the top down of course!!!
And fall .... I love the feeling of being basically warm with cool overtones. However, I do dread the onset of winter. Fall weather is the best with warmth and a little cool, bugs are declining, and there is football of course.
So, I guess I don't really have a favorite season. There is something I like about all of them. If I had to pick one out of all of them, it would be summer I guess.

Sunday, September 15, 2013

my outside shell

Describe my physical self. that is an amazingly tricky question. I have been an evolving person over the years.
Baby Teri -- blond haired little girl with my Dad.

As a bride at 21 years of age.
as a new mother at age 26.
Not quite at my highest weight.
Not quite at my lowest weight.

 In a hospital bed after one of my "big surgeries" I have had approximately 12 feet of incisions in my life.

This summer with my three children and husband.
This summer - our entire family!
And as a grandmother.
As you can see, I have gone through many incarnations. I am now in between my lightest and heaviest. I have short dirty brown hair. Greenish-blue eyes. big "German" hands. Average height, 5'7.75" Average looking person, with absolutely beautiful children and grandchildren!

My Birth

I can't actually remember my birth. My parents lived in Oklahoma at the time as my dad was stationed at the Altas Air Force base. Mom came back to Iowa for my birth. I was born in Sioux Valley Memorial Hospital. My grandmother always said that she came down stairs and found mom lying on the floor because she was in so much pain and "didn't know what to do with herself."

Mom was in labor for a very long time because I was breech. Then according to family stories when they called the doctor, who was a new doctor, Dr. Richard Berg, his wife stated he would be over after breakfast. Apparently I did not wish to wait until after breakfast and my grandmother, Alma Matzdorff Grashoff, "grabbed" a doctor in the stairway, Dr. Lawler, and he delivered me. I was an average size baby, seven pounds. As you can see from this picture when I was two months old, I don't seem to have a lot of hair! I know I was breast fed for about six weeks.

Saturday, September 7, 2013

I am following the blog prompts for a "Book about me, written by me." This will obviously evolve over time.

Ask yourself 20 times “Who are you?”

A mother of three.
A grandmother of three.
A wife of one.
A mother-in-law to one.
A daughter to one.
A sister to three.
A sister-in-law to six.
A genealogist / family historian.
An HIT professional.
An animal lover.
A crafter.
A helper.
A tech geek.
A knitter.
A crocheter.
a scrap booker.
A Friend.
A housekeeper.
NOT a cook!
A photographer.